Back to Calendar of Events

2017 Western Australian state election 

Western Australia has two houses of State Parliament, the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council.

Following amendments to electoral legislation in 2011, State General Elections for both houses are now held every four years on the second Saturday in March. The next State general election in Western Australia is scheduled to be held on 11 March 2017.

Western Australia is divided into 59 Legislative Assembly districts and six Legislative Council regions. During an election, one candidate is elected for each Legislative Assembly district and six candidates are elected for each Legislative Council region.

On 11th March 2017, the Rottnest Island Picture Hall will be open from 6am - 8pm for Rottnest Island visitors to place their votes.